$6 dollars of Fruit and or Vegetables

10 Oct

This is my W.I.C voucher and I know what your thinking, 6 whole dollars!?! I look at it as some thing else I didn’t have to buy-which helps-. In my situation we have to feed a family of 5 on a family of 3 budget-my daughter “gets” the W.I.C-. W.I.C helps our family by providing extra food that my daughter can’t eat and my husband’s kids can; we can go back and forth from W.I.C to the food stamps getting gluten free food-most of which is expensive but that’s another post!-

What to get with $6?-if you click the pics they will grow-

                                                           

It’s sad because I used to get dried fruit with and fresh herbs with the W.I.C, at least-in California-they still let you get organic fruit.-I have on many occasions switch the labels for regular and organic fruit/vegetables. Every little bit helps!-

With one of these-and depending on time of year-I’ll get an onion, Tomato, maybe squeeze in a bulb of garlic-WHAT THE F* IS UP WITH THE GARLIC IN THE STORES?!?!-Some times I’ll switch the garlic for a lemon or get a big bag of carrots instead. I tend not to get canned fruit unless there is a brand I like and there’s a good sale, same goes for the frozen fruit. Frozen vegetables I get the standard peas, broccoli, spinach. Also-this happens rarely-in the summer time and when the price allows I’ll use whole voucher on a pineapple-yeah they cost about that much!-.

-These are the canned fruit you can get with W.I.C: Gogo Squeez, Great Value, Hytop, Market Pantry, Mott’s, Natural Directions, O Organics, Raley’s, Raley’s Fine Foods, Ralphs, Safeway, Safeway Kitchens, Santa Cruz Organic, Seneca, Stater Bros, Sunny Select, TreeTop, Western Family-

-These are the frozen fruits you can get: Albertsons, Cascadian Farm, Dole, Flavorite, Full Circle, Great Value, Hytop, La Nuestra, Market Pantry, Natural Directions, O Organics, Private Selection, Raley’s, Safeway, Stater Bros., Sunny Select, Welch’s, Western Family, Wild Harvest-

-These are the canned vegetables that you can get with W.I.C: Albertsons, Best Yet, Better Valu, Contadina, Del Monte, Del Monte Fresh Cut, Eden, Flavorite, Food Club, Full Circle, Green Giant, Hytop, Kroger, Kroger Value, Le Sueur, Market Pantry, Maxx Value, Muir Glen, Natural Directions, O Organics, Parade, Private Selection, Progresso, Raley’s, Raley’s Fine Foods, Ralphs, Ralphs Value, Red & White, S & W, Safeway, Safeway Kitchens, Shoppers Value, Stater Bros, Sunny Select, Valu Time, Western Family-

-These are the frozen vegatables you can get: Albertsons, Cascadian Farm, Flavorite, Great Value, Green Giant, Hytop, La Nuestra, Market Pantry, Natural Directions, O Organics, Pantry Essentials, Private Selection, Raley’s, Raley’s Fine Foods, Ralphs, Ralphs Value, Safeway, Stater Bros., Sunny Select, Value Time, Western Family-

-These are the Fresh Vegetables bagged or packaged: Dole, Eating Right, Fresh Express-

What you guys  get with you vouchers? If you don’t get W.I.C what do you buy in fruit and vegetables that adds up to $6?

~Gluten-Putin~

Leave your thoughts, comments and rants...

